UT2K4 Wont Work For Me

Your general discussion home away from home.

Moderator: ForumModerators

User avatar
Cloud
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:35 pm

UT2K4 Wont Work For Me

Postby Cloud » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:35 pm

Hey guys it Cloudy. I'm back, sort of. I'm on windows 10 now and no matter what compatibility setting I try I cannot get UT2K4 to run. I have it on steam but it just crashes every time I load it up. Anyone have some idea of how I can get it to work? You guys know I'm all that great with computers, and I just can't figure out how to get it to run.

User avatar
Sideous Prime
Clan Leader
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Iacon, Western Province
Contact:

Re: UT2K4 Wont Work For Me

Postby Sideous Prime » Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:05 pm

I don't know much about steam, but if you have access to the UT icons outside of steam like a normal install, try this method:

Right click on the UT icon and find properties. then select the compatibility tab. in there, put a check in the box where it says run this program at administrator. it's at the bottom.

restart your machine

if that doesn't work, put a check in the box that says "run in compatibility mode." then select windows 7 or windows Vista. Restart your machine and try again.
"You'll never stop at one. I'll take you all on!"
Image

User avatar
Cloud
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:35 pm

Re: UT2K4 Wont Work For Me

Postby Cloud » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:06 pm

Well no dice on getting it to work. I've tried everything I can think of. Oh well. If you guys ever start playing a new game let me know, I'll jump in or send me a message I'll add you on steam :)

User avatar
Sideous Prime
Clan Leader
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Iacon, Western Province
Contact:

Re: UT2K4 Wont Work For Me

Postby Sideous Prime » Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:50 am

Hey cloud, here's your solution. I just upgraded to windows 10 and had the same problem. Here's a solution. If this doesn't work for you, your problem may be with Steam, not with UT. Try it and see what happens.

open your UT2004.ini and make the following changes,

[Engine.Engine]
RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice

to

[Engine.Engine]
;RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
"You'll never stop at one. I'll take you all on!"
Image


Return to “thoughts... more or less”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 87 guests